Re: Walden, Jean-François Peyret, after Henry David Thoreau

In addition to the themes the artwork and the software have in common—memory, technological augmentation, discursivity – Re: Walden is a complex object ideal for putting Rekall through its paces:

  • the complexity of forms and the staging process: this project, launched in 2009 following a proposal by the EMPAC (Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center) in Troy (NY, USA) has gone through several stages so far: installations at Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains (June 2010 and February 2013), a musical performance at Empac (March 2012), a theatrical version at Théâtre Paris- Villette (June 2010 and June 2011) then at the Avignon Festival (July 2013), and an extension into an virtual world with the collaboration of Agnès de Cayeux (2010 to 2013). All these metamorphoses have a common thread: they are based on a reading of Walden or Life in the Woods by Henry David Thoreau.
  • the complexity of the artistic contributions: as usual, Jean-François Peyret works hand in hand with a number of different people: Agnès de Cayeux (virtual world), Alexandros Markeas (music), Thierry Coduys (electroacoustic and computer systems), Pierre Nouvel (video), François Yvon (translation software).

An initial stage involving collecting documents from members of Jean-François Peyret’s team is almost complete. Several hundred documents have been collected and must now be sorted and analysed. In parallel, functionalities have been implemented in the software, such as the option of creating semantic maps that make it possible to monitor the development of a concept as the work progresses through its various stages.

 

Produced by Cie tf2 – Jean-François Peyret, Coproduction La Colline-théâtre national (Paris)

With the support of Festival d’Avignon,  La Chartreuse de Villeneuve lez Avignon, Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center (Troy, USA), Centre national du Théâtre, Le Fresnoy Studio national des Arts contemporains (Tourcoing), Centre des Écritures contemporaines et numériques (Mons), Dicréam, Mairie de Paris, Institut Numédiart de l’Umons (Mons), Acapela (Belgium), Laboratoire d’Informatique pour la Mécanique et les Sciences de l’Ingénieur (CNRS), Arcadi, Spedidam, SACD.

Re : Walden, Jean-François Peyret, d’après Henry David Thoreau

Au-delà de thématiques communes à l’œuvre et au logiciel – la mémoire, l’augmentation technologique, la discursivité – Re : Walden est un objet complexe qui nous a obligé à pousser dans ses retranchements la conception de Rekall :

  • complexité des formes et du processus de création : ce projet, lancé en 2009, après une proposition de l’EMPAC (Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center), à Troy (NY, USA) a connu jusqu’à ce jour plusieurs états : installations au Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts contemporains (juin 2010 et février 2013), performance musicale à l’Empac (mars 2012), forme théâtre au Théâtre Paris- Villette (juin 2010 et juin 2011) puis au festival d’Avignon (juillet 2013), extension dans un monde virtuel avec la collaboration d’Agnès de Cayeux (2010 à 2013). Pour fil conducteur de ces métamorphoses : déployer une lecture du livre Walden ou la vie dans les bois d’Henry-David Thoreau.
  • complexité des contributions artistiques : à son habitude, Jean-François Peyret travaille en complicité avec de nombreux collaborateurs : Agnès de Cayeux (monde virtuel), Alexandros Markeas (musique), Thierry Coduys (dispositif électroacoustique et informatique), Pierre Nouvel (vidéo), François Yvon (programme de traduction).

Une première étape de collecte des documents auprès des différents membres de l’équipe de Jean-François Peyret est presque achevée. Plusieurs centaines de documents ont été rassemblés et doivent être triés, analysés. En parallèle, des fonctionnalités ont été implémentées dans le logiciel, comme la possibilité de créer des cartographies sémantiques qui permettent de suivre l’évolution d’un concept, au fur et à mesure des étapes de travail.

 

Production Cie tf2 – Jean-François Peyret, Coproduction La Colline-théâtre national (Paris)

Avec le soutien du Festival d’Avignon, De la Chartreuse de Villeneuve lez Avignon, De l’Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center (Troy, États-Unis), Du Centre national du Théâtre, Du Fresnoy Studio national des Arts contemporains (Tourcoing), Du Centre des Écritures contemporaines et numériques (Mons), Du Dicréam, De la Mairie de Paris, De l’Institut Numédiart de l’Umons (Mons), d’Acapela (Belgique), Du Laboratoire d’Informatique pour la Mécanique et les Sciences de l’Ingénieur au CNRS, De l’Arcadi, de la Spedidam, De la SACD.